This may be the first posting on my blog but I had a compulsion to write it just so that this particular fix is mentioned. Many a times I’ve been on the verge of throwing in the towel in the search for the elusive fixes to the problems below:

  1. Firefox suddenly deciding not to work on my laptop one day. It gave no regard to how many times I’ve uninstalled and reinstalled it. It simply would not work.
  2. Old Folders and New Folders suddenly could not be Renamed. No matter whether you tried via the context menu’s property tab, or using F2.
  3. Adobe Reader did not work. Flash updates also failed. Documents could not be read. Online games could not be played. Despair.
  4. Internet Explorer was extremely sluggish. This compounded with the Firefox not working issue really created a crappy browsing experience.
  5. A persistent ‘RoxMMTrayApp module has stopped working’ message. Annoying but fairly minor.
  6. The issue that ultimately lead me to the post, ‘Error 1606: Could not access network location %APPDATA%’. This error came up every time I tried to update Windows Live Messenger.

I’m running the Vista Home Premium operating system and ever since it shipped from Dell, I’ve been having problems with the wireless connection, driver issues, Windows Update issues, and a plethora of other irritating issues. It was all very frustrating trying to solve each problem in turn.

It never occurred to me that the problem was a single registry issue. A big thank you to the people that posted the fix, especially to Steve123. His post has changed my entire disposition towards my laptop. Without any further ado, the post that has given me more satisfaction than any other post ever did:

http://forums.techarena.in/operating-systems/1127524.htm

The incident truly made me feel Blessed! Praise be to God in the highest!

